Match perspectives between generated RT texture and its parent scene

Hello everyone,

I’m quite new to three.js but I’m absolutely loving it so far!
Now, I’m trying to achieve a certain type of effect that’s giving me headaches, and I’d love it if anyone could point me to the right direction!

This is a followup to a StackOverflow question I posted a few days ago. As you can see, I’m trying to have a “window to the world’ type of effect where an object of a scene is a mask to another scene.

Here’s a CodePen with what I’ve tried so far. I’m using a RenderTarget to generate a texture of the next scene, which I apply to the object that is supposed to be the mask in the current scene. I’m using the same camera because I want the perspectives and sizes of both scene to match. But once the generated texture is applied to the mesh, well… They obviously don’t. :sweat_smile:

Is there a way to make the generated texture match the global scene, or should I forget about using a single camera? I’ve thought about using multiple cameras, but then I’d have to somehow counter their respective perspectives to avoid distortion, and I’ve got to admit that I have no idea as to how to do that. :thinking:

Or maybe using a RenderTarget isn’t the right approach and there’s a simpler way?

I’m quite lost as to how to move forward with that effect, and any guidance would be truly appreciated!
Thanks!

2 Likes

Alright, I actually figured it out!

I ended up using the EffectComposer() and nested RenderPass() and MaskPass() in order to achieve the wanted result with a single camera! I’m not sure how it will hold up performance-wise when I add complexity to the scenes, but it’s a start!

I’m actually starting to understand the EffectComposer and its magic. :sweat_smile:

Welcome to our community! :smile:

That is an exciting project. :+1: I suggest using a second camera and investigating the setViewOffset method: three.js docs