My coding journey: deploying an interactive three.js app with react and supabase during the next 30days

Hey :slight_smile:
I’m a designer and frontend developer and it’s been few days that I am diving into threejs, mostly following the threejs journey course by Bruno Simon.
Apart from learning the technology and start exploring generative art, I decided to build a side project I had in mind since years, and that finally I decided to take the time to code it (at least a working demo).
Here I try to explain what the project is about: https:nooverse.xyz
I’m quite scared as a beginner to approach threejs to build something like that, therefore I thought that sharing my thoughts, progresses and blockers here in the open may help me to overcome the pain and frustration that they will accompany me during the large part of the development :joy: :sweat_smile:

DAY 1
I’m collecting a bunch of code snippets or visual references that may resonate with nooverse to take inspiration from (aka copy as much code as possible :face_with_monocle: )
Given that I do not know yet the precise effect I want from the ocean, I am basically picking what I like or just useful bits:

I’ve decided to recreate the codepen listed above made in three.js with react-three-fiber. It has some features that are pretty good for my demo:

• Each rain drop is a new emotion submitted
  • I love the concentric circles effect that the rain drop produces when it touches the floor
    Of course, it’s not straightforward as I hoped :grimacing:

That’s what I accomplished for today:

Here the code

Time for a :beer:

1 Like

wow, just found this forum entry that shows an amazing scenario :star_struck:

1 Like
for (let i = 0; i < 60; i++) {
  for (let j = 0; j < 30; j++) {
    array.push(
      <mesh receiveShadow key={Math.random() * 5} position={[(i/2)-15, 2, (j/2)-10]}>
        <boxBufferGeometry attach="geometry" args={[0.3, 0.3, 0.3]} />