Threejs performance [Car Visualization]

Hey folks, I’m new to Three.js and I had a couple of questions in regards to performance. I’m building a little visualisation app for car liveries for a game called Assetto Corsa Competizione.

I have a couple of questions in regarding to performance and one potential hint request as for the quality of the rendering.

A simplified fiddle is available here https://jsfiddle.net/pwjd7vz0/191/

1. Performance seems to degrade significantly with zooming, is this one of those “overdrawn” examples I’ve stumbled across the web? If so, is there any simple / clear resource explaining how to overcome it?

2. Performance seems significantly worse on Firefox, is it something that can be addressed? How?

3. I’d like to provide some glow to headlights and rearlights. What do you suggest to achieve that? I did try the Unreal Bloom pass, but A) has a strong effect on performance (might not be too bad if fixing the 2 issues above) and B) the reflections on the body of the car also bloom, making the image blurry.

Ideas and feedback are super welcome :slight_smile:

A few hints :

• 121846 tris for this model seems a bit too high in my opinion, consider reducing it bellow 20000 and use normal maps to render the details and textures.

• Dynamic shadows cost a lot with 3 lights in the scene and so many polygons, if you only need this shadow on the ground, consider just making a plane with a texture and disabling dynamic shadows. You can also bake the lights in Blender, you model is static anyway so you definitely don’t need dynamic shadows. You could also use image-based lighting, have a look at this example : three.js examples

I guess it coul work without lights and just the env map (or maybe an ambient/hemi light, so no shadows), however I do see the 2 issues above even without lights.