Need to drawImage on 2D canvas the image data from THREE.WebGLRenderTarget

Guys, I have found all kinds of examples of using render target for maps, but not taking THREE.WebGLRenderTarget and turning it into an image that I can use on 2D canvas to ctx.drawImage(rtt, 0,0,300,300) etc. I have extensive threejs experience and knowhow, but just never needed to touch render target stuff before this… Can anyone provide me these (presumably) couple lines of code?

Just the relevant parts (no animations - only render as needed):

bufferTexture = new THREE.WebGLRenderTarget( wid, hei, { minFilter: THREE.LinearFilter, magFilter: THREE.NearestFilter});

function render(){	
	renderer.render(scene, camera);
	renderer.render(scene2, camera2, bufferTexture, true);
	rtt = bufferTexture.texture;	
};

function drawRTT(){
	ctx.drawImage(rtt, 0, 0, 300,300);	
};

I have managed to do what I need with two of everything (including a second THREE.WebGLRenderer – and putting its domElement in a hidden div)… but this obviously is a pain, and I imagine twice as taxing on systems… So really guys, if there is a way to do what I am saying with a render target and just popping that imageData (whatever) into a new Image(), or something along those lines, and being able to draw that into my 2d canvas, that would rock. Please advise. Thanks in advance.

Edit: To be clear, scenes 1 & 2 have somewhat different content. And I’m aware that one can drawImage(renderer.domElement,x,y,xpos,ypos), which I am doing in my workaround. I just want to be able to do the same from a render target.

AFAIK, it’s not possible do directly use a render target in order to draw its framebuffer onto a canvas element. Apart from your proposed solution you might want to check out WebGLRenderer.readRenderTargetPixels in order to try this approach.

2 Likes

Hey, someone finally spoke up! Thanks Mugen!