Interactive building with editable dimensions?

Hi I’m new to three.js. I’m working to build a 3d building for a client where visitors can design a metal pole building. What is the best geometry to use for It. I’ve thought of each wall and roof face being separate so they can be sized dynamically from a menu. But then I see Three.js can do so much. Are there any suggestions on a better way to approach it?

I would love to hear how folks would approach this cause I’m not sure yet of all the capabilities. Should I extrude a pentagon for the basic structure? Could I then apply different textures to each face? Should I keep every part
seperate: I’m just a nube and would appreciate any suggestions.

There are a couple of approaches here, and which you should use depends on the complexity and shapes of your model:

1. use the built-in primitives from three.js, such as Box, Cylinder, Sphere etc. In this case be sure to use the BufferGeometry versions: BoxBufferGeometry rather than BoxGeometry since the performance will be better. You can then resize them using scale. This will only work if your model is just made up of very basic shapes obviously.

2. Similarly to the above, but use shapes and extrude them into the solid shapes you need. See these examples. You can create more complex models this way, but it’s still much more limited than using a modelling program.

3. Create your own geometries: start with a BufferGeometry and build it yourself. In this case, you are responsible for creating everything, including vertex positions, UVs and normals. This is most complex method and I don’t advise it if you are new to three.js, however, you can create very complex geometries dynamically this way