How to add and remove large 3d models to the scene more efficiently

Hello everyone!
I’m creating JS-script for 3d web configurator. I’m just learning three.js and need to some help and advices. Can enybody help me? I have two problems now.
How is it more efficient in terms of performance to add and remove large 3d models on one scene.
The same question applies to complex textures and materials that will be dynamically added and removed from models.
How best to store many models that will be dynamically added and removed to the scene. Will it be possible to store them all in different GLB files, then extract only objects from the GLB file and insert them into the scene. How correct is this approach?

Hi, welcome to the forum! :wave:

Im not entirely sure what the purpose of the generator is. It loads 3D models and then disables their visibility?

As far as your GLTF question goes, it depends on your app. You generally only want to load models, which are required, for example it wouldnt make sense to load 5 big levels in a game, but rather only the next one (and dispose of the previous one?) once the player finishes one. Otherwise you’re wasting memory and making the user wait unnecessarily long, because you are loading more than you need to.
On the other hand, if you know, youre going to use all your models immediately, it’s best to load them all at once, preferably packed into one file to avoid multiple http requests.

And yes, on the web its best to use the binary file formats for your models (egg.: .glb), whenever possible. Engines like Unity optimize your assets during the build process. In the browser, you have to do it yourself.

1 Like