Fans blowing up, high CPU usage?

Hi everyone,

I’m having a lot of trouble trying to finalise my website but for some reason it always causes the fans of my laptop to turn up after running it for a bit (fans don’t turn up straight away but happens after a minute or two). I’m new to three.js and I’m not sure my code is great… It would be great to know if it’s something I’ve done in my three.js code that’s causing the problem or if it’s my other code…

In my scene I have imported a glb scene(hand model with skeleton) and I’ve also created a plane geometry.

Here is my app.js code:

I also checked the Performance with Chrome Dev Tools, I think there’s something wrong with my init() and requestAnimationFrame, as it always says its a long task:

Any help is appreciated! Thanks in advance!

If your scene does not contain any animated 3D models, it’s actually better to remove the animation loop and only render when necessary. You can implement this kind of on-demand rendering by calling your render function only on certain events (e.g. app startup, user interaction, window resizing). Since you are using OrbitContorls, you can easily do this:

controls.addEventListener( 'change', render );

Which means the render() function is only called if the controls fire a change event.

Many official three.js example use this pattern, for example webgl_loader_gltf. I suggest you study it and try to adapt the code to your project.

On-demand rendering is in general a type of performance optimization without loosing rendering quality.

5 Likes

I would warn against this, you might end up requesting more frames than your screen can render. If you want to go down the route of “on-demand-rendering” - I suggest you throttle your rendering to at most once per screen refresh cycle. You can do that with requestAnimatioFrame and a bit of logic. I have similar mechanism in meep:

this code is under MIT, so feel free to use it.

1 Like