.basis textures and multi texture optimisation techniques (array textures, shaderMaterial etc.)

Happy new year all,

Looking for some more advice on optimising my multi-image visualisation (up to 1200 dynamically loaded images set) (https://youtu.be/lyB7avzkOew). Quite early on in the project i switched to .basis files successfully instead of jpg/webp and saved 50% of GPU memory doing so, 600mb instead of 1200mb for the jpgs. I’ve also merged the plane geometry for each of these images, so i’m now at a single program but 1200 drawcalls for the individual texture materials. The important attributes for this project for me are fast load times and optimal performance on most modern devices, main caveat is I’m a shader noob so struggling to visualise the various techniques.

When I posted earlier in the year, texture atlases seemed like a good bet but after some research and looking/trying available examples (alot admittedly over my head) I’ve kind of ruled them out for these reasons, I’m happy to be challenged on any of these points of course as this is just from my limited understanding:

• images are 500px+ - not a huge benefit for a 2048/4096 atlas limit. - I’m happy with the compromise of resolution vs quality in the scene and would’nt want to go lower res.

• collection of images is user set and varies - no point in loading a 1000 atlased set if there’s only 10 images needed - this largely ruled out offline atlases to me.

• Dynamic atlas generation is slow and/or takes up too much memory when working with many high resolution images, i’m unsure if it can be setup with loaded .basis compressed textures anyway.