Types of vehicles and physics engines

Hiya, I’m new to three.js and physics engines. I’ve been watching a few tutorials and challenged myself to make mini game with some pirate ships. The trouble I have is that everything I have seen tutorial wise is geared towards using cars. Can anyone point me towards any tutorials or resources that will enable me the opportunity to learn how to make a boat move or a helicopter fly, just another vehicle that’s not a car basically.

Also what physics engines to choose? I’ve heard that cannon.js is lighter than Ammo. I presume that’s because Ammo has more to it? I’ve been struggling to find resources online so any pointers in the right direction would be a massive help!

AFAICS, Cannon.js is not maintained anymore. The official physics example on threejs.org all use ammo.js.

https://threejs.org/examples/?q=ammo

Is there any js version docs/apis/tuts of ammo.js?
Before, I’ve tried and found it’s too hard to read C version docs, and also too hard to learn ammo.js directly from three.js examples.

This is the trouble I have found. I’ve found some basic tutorials on applying real basic physics. But when it comes to anything beyond a car driving around I couldn’t find anything to get a base understanding from. So I have no idea how to make a boat move or a plane fly.

EDIT

I have found this that might be a good start, something that was shared in another thread.

1 Like

Keep in mind that you don’t necessarily need a physic engine for your requirement. Implementing basic physic formulas based on force, mass, acceleration and velocity can already produce very natural looking results.