[Solved] Is it possible to make a PWA that will start in fullscreen on Android?

I’ve written a lot of three.js code, but I’m completely new to adapting three.js to mobile, so before I spend considerable time reading books about how exactly to make a decent PWA, I’d like to know if this is possible at all.

I’m developing a pure 2.5D + 3D stereo + VR app, so for the last two, fullscreen is a must. I’ve already implemented fullscreen on/off on PC via a button, but ideally it should start fullscreen on mobile without user interaction. I have also created a manifest.json and some suggested meta settings.
I have read some articles but I’m still not sure about the requirements.

I prefer to develop the app offline, serving to mobile via WIFI, so:

• is there an HTTPS serving local server (with a valid certificate) a must, or can this hassle be avoided via some workaround?
  • is user-interaction necessary to enter fullscreen on android?
  • if (user interaction) is necessary, then is an HTML element necessary to get a touch event in order to enter fullscreen mode, or can a touch event be captured somehow in a pure 3D three.js environment?
    (While I’m writing this, I figured that perhaps a transparent HTML element on top of the scene could be used to capture touch events…?)
  • do I need service workers? (that is also new to me).

So many questions …just for a single mode change :slight_smile:

1. I don’t think so. In any case, Ionic / Capacitor can instantly trigger fullscreen you (they support PWA as well as native WebView apps.)
  1. If you are creating a client-side app, you shouldn’t really need to set up any kind of server on their device :thinking: (unless I misunderstand.)
  1. As in point 1 - I highly doubt it’s required. :sweat_smile: Requiring user-interaction is painful enough for audio contexts - requiring it just to toggle fullscreen would give a questionable user experience.