R3F/ThreeJS, Memory Leak when Canvas is Scrolled out of View

Good Evening/Morning Everyone,

Hoping that someone can help.

I’m relatively new to the threeJS, react-fiber and 3d modelling world. I managed to get a 3D model loaded on a webpage I’m building. I got the model animations playing smoothly and got some interactivity with the model moving its head to follow the cursor - all great so far. However, I encountered a memory leak that for the life of me I can’t work out.

The model has no issue whatsoever when the website loads initially, however, if I scroll further down the page when the Canvas begins to leave the visible window, all of a sudden the memory usage begins to spike. I’ve done quite a bit of research but I can’t find a solution so I’m hoping the resident geniuses here will be able to help.

I attempted to create a codesandbox but had some difficulties with dependencies - if necessary I can retry however. What I have included instead is the relevant code and a recording showing the memory-heap spike:

The Canvas

import { Canvas } from "@react-three/fiber"
import { ReactNode, Suspense, useEffect, useRef} from "react"
import {EnvironmentProps, Stage } from "@react-three/drei";
import useMediaQuery from "@/utils/hooks/useMediaQuery";

interface ModelViewerProps {
    environment?: EnvironmentProps,
    children: ReactNode,
}

const ModelViewer = ({environment, children}:ModelViewerProps) => {
    const isMobile = useMediaQuery('mobile');

return (
        <Canvas
            className="modelViewer"
            shadows 
            camera={{ 
                position: [.2, 0, 1],
            }}
            resize={{scroll:false}}
        >
            <Suspense fallback={null}>
                <Stage
                    intensity={0.5}
                    preset="rembrandt"
                    shadows={{ 
                        type: 'contact', 
                        color: '#408FCE', 
                        offset: -0.38,