Problem with interaction when merging WebGLRenderer & CSS3DRenderer

Hi,

I am facing an issue if I would add WebGLRenderer & CSS3DRenderer together. And if I can make the CSS to properly oculate the WebGL objects. Then I find I can not interact with CSS3DObjects and if I would set pointer event none to WebGL canvas, I see that I can interact with CSS3DObjects but I cannot interact with WebGLRenderer components such as OrbitControls, RayCaster etc. So basically I can see that I can only interact with either of one renderer. Can you please provide me a workaround?

I tried to make an example with two WebGL cubes and one HTML tag – they both react on mouse hover. The cubes use raycasting, the tag uses CSS. There is OrbitControls acting on the cubes and the tag.

Because this is my first time ever using CSS3DRenderer there is one glitch - the HTML tag is not shown at the beginning. If you rotate the scene a bit, it will show up.

https://codepen.io/boytchev/full/GRXEdEx

Hi @PavelBoytchev, please allow me some moment I will try to create a small example defining the structure I am using in codepen then sharing with you.

One more thing I noticed is that, in your example the html is not getting occulated by the 3d object.

Yes, this is so. I’m not experienced with CSS3DRenderer, so I only focused on having interaction of both WebGL and HTML elements.

But bro I can integrate it and I can get it working when it’s not properly occulated. But it doesn’t let me interact with when I try to make it perfect with occultation. For example, in your case if you increase the z-index of the WebGL canvas so I hope it will give proper occlusion but then we cannot interact with CSS3DObject. And if we set WebGL canvas pointer-events:none then, occultation and interaction with CSS3DObject both will work but OrbitControls and WebGL raycasting will not work. This is the problem.

Not sure if this is helpful:

From the Collection of examples from discourse.threejs.org