'Optimization' section in the documentation šŸ¤©

Hi there,

I find it quite tedious to find information about Three.js project optimization. The only way to get information about this subject is to roam the forum, the GitHub page, StackOverflow, and scattered blogs and youtube videosā€¦

A centralised ā€˜Optimizationā€™ section in the documentation would be awesomely useful

As I am still learning to master Three.js, I donā€™t feel confident doing it myself, but I wanted to open the discussion, to see if somebody would be up to do it, and share ideas about what can constitute this page. Of course I can help in the limit of my modest abilities. I jot down some ideas, feel free to add/debate/critisize :

Scene optimization :

• Occlusion culling
  • LOD
  • BufferGeometry
  • Octree ?
  • What else ?

Assets optimization :

• Number of vertices
  • Merging geometries
  • GLTF + Draco
  • Texture compression
  • What else ?

Bad practices :

• Creating objects in the loop
  • Creating identical file loaders (common with beginners)
  • Adding too much lights into a scene
  • Too big camera frustum
  • Using non power of two textures
  • Removing objects without disposing
  • What else?

Optimization process

• How to know if GPU-bound/CPU-bound
  • How to know draw calls
  • How to profile
  • What else ?

What do you think about this ?

6 Likes

I keep a list of tips here:

Iā€™m sure thereā€™s plenty more the could be added, so if you have any suggestions, let me know.

Check out the links at the bottom of the page to unreal and unityā€™s optimization pages as well, they have lots of generic graphics tips that are relevant to three.js.

See this guide as well:

3 Likes

@looeee your page of tips is amazing, Iā€™ve learned a lot from it, and go back to it from time to time. I just thought it could be nice to have something in the doc, even if itā€™s only an index of pages such as yours.

1 Like

I think itā€™s important that the documentation focuses on two things: