Maya files for JSONLoader

Hi there!

I’m quite new to three.js so maybe my problem has a simple solution. What I’m trying to do is use a JSONLoader and use geometry from Maya 2018. When I export models from Maya I’m using this plug-in →
https://github.com/mrdoob/three.js/tree/master/utils/exporters/maya which saves them to .json files. However, the JSONLoader seems to need .js files. I did try with .json file but it didn’t work. :sweat:
I’m wondering if it is possible to export models from Maya to a .js format?

Just to note that in the past I’ve used .obj files that worked just fine, but for this project, I will need to animate my objects, so I believe this will not be an option.

Any help will be much appreciated. Thanks! :slight_smile:

The Maya JSON exporter will be removed with the next release. Export your models to FBX and use FBXLoader instead. This workflow also supports animations.

3 Likes

Hi, thanks for the reply! Does the FBXLoader support morphTargets?

Not sure about this. I think @looeee can help here.

It’s not something I’ve tried yet. @may would you like to test this?
If it’s not working we can add it to the loader.

2 Likes

@looeee I tried playing around with the FBX loader but maybe I’m too new to the whole concept of morphing and it didn’t work for me. What I tried doing is add a new material but soon found out that it won’t be as straightforward as the JSON one: How to apply texture for .fbx model in three.js? - Stack Overflow Which then confuses me how would I set the mesh.material.morphTargets = true; and this is where I had to stop.

The effect I’m trying to achieve is essentially: three.js examples but instead of having the controls on the side, the morphing would be activated on click of a button.