How can i change opacity of my GLTF?

Hi; i’m looking to set opacity to a gltf file… is there a way for that ?
Thank’s a lot !

new THREE.GLTFLoader().load('model/scene.gltf', result => { 
  model = result.scene.children[0]; 
  model.position.set(0,5.5,-2);

model.traverse(n => { if ( n.isMesh ) {
    n.castShadow = true; 
    n.receiveShadow = true;
    if(n.material.map) n.material.map.anisotropy = 1; 
  }});

scene.add(model);

animate();
});

Hi :slight_smile:
Opacity is a property of a material. You can change mesh.material.opacity to any value between 0.0 and 1.0.
However if your material uses transparency, remember to also set material.transparent = true.

Edit: I see now, that model is probably just a group. In that case you have to find each mesh, you want to set opacity to, and edit it’s material, like I wrote above.

2 Likes

:smile: Thnk’s a lot

I’m new to javascript; i just followed a good tutorial ^^
i’ve black screen when i write:

new THREE.GLTFLoader().load('model/scene.gltf', result => { 
  model = result.scene.children[0]; 
  model.position.set(0,5.5,-2);
  model.material.opacity(0.5);

model.traverse(n => { if ( n.isMesh ) {
    n.castShadow = true; 
    n.receiveShadow = true;
    if(n.material.map) n.material.map.anisotropy = 1;

}});

scene.add(model);

animate();
});

While tinkering with the model is obviously fine, I’d recommend to first set it up to how you want it to look in an external 3D application (for example in Blender). Looking at your code, I can’t really tell which object you want to be transparent.
If you console.log( gltf.scene ), you will be able to inspect your model’s all children objects.

In any case, once you find the mesh you want to make transparent, instead of:

mesh.material.opacity(0.5);

you should do:

mesh.material.opacity = 0.5;
mesh.material.transparent = true;