Creating 360 Virtual Tour with 360 images and 3d model using Three.js

Hi, I’m new to Three.js and I’m trying to create a 360 virtual tour using Three.js and the 3d constructed obj models and the corresponding 360 images. I’ve been able to load the 3d model. I have the desired 360 images of the 3d space. Now what I want to achieve is overlay the 360 images on the 3d space if its the correct way. I do not want to make the virtual tour independent of the 3d model, because I need to use the different 3d planes made by different objects in the space.

Currently, I’m trying to load the 360 images in a sphere and loading that sphere in the 3d model of the whole building. I also did the same by loading the 6 different faces in a cube. But I’m really not sure, this is the correct way to create the virtual tour. Basically, I’m seeking advice on how to render 360 images on top of 3d model (theoretically as well technically), so that by clicking on the hotspots (where the camera was placed while taking the photos), the user should be able to tour the whole building.

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

If it works fine for you I don’t imagine why it can’t be the ‘correct’ way.

I worked on a similar project once (not threejs) and using the scene objects (cubes/spheres) and mapping spherically projection mapped images for textures.
Few things I learnt in the process:

• Finding the right size of the spheres. You don’t want them to occlude the user when moving around, nor make it so big it becomes wieldy to manage multiple spheres on the start intersecting. Best method I would say is to use to keep only one such sphere active when the user is inside.
  • Using multiple buffers to separately render the 360 image and the rest of the scene and overlay as you need it if you need to overlay 360 and scene information.