Collision Detection with 3D Models

Hi all!,

I’m new to THREE.JS and figuring out a way to implement Collision Detection on 3D Models with Raycaster. raycaster is working fine with ThreeJS objects i.e Box Geometry etc, but when it comes to GLTF loaded objects, collision is not being detected. Is there any way I can implement collision detection for Blender imported models where I do not have to create a separate mesh to collide. If any tutorial or guide available, kindly help.

Thank you.

1 Like

you can use physics libs for very convenient impact collision. i would suggest cannon-es: https://github.com/react-spring/cannon-es

it also handles convex shapes, so you can use random gltf imports like in this demo: https://codesandbox.io/s/use-cannon-convexpolyhedron-proposal-fcu6e it uses a react wrapper around cannon-es here, but you can do the same thing in plain three.

Here are some Cannonjs examples.

Vanilla : Threejs Boilerplate : Cannon Physics - JSFiddle - Code Playground
React Three Fiber : React Three Fiber Boilerplate - Cannon - CodeSandbox
TypeScript : Cannon-ES Example - CodeSandbox

You can also implement basic collision detection with simple bounding volumes like bounding spheres, AABB or even OBBs and the respective intersection tests. In this way, you can perform fast tests without the overhead of a physics engine. three.js provides for all three bounding volumes respective classes.

BTW: A very good book about related techniques is Real-Time Collision Detection from Christer Ericson.

3 Likes