Blender imported meshes crash on collision

Hi there !

First off, I’m a total newbie, so don’t hesitate to tell me if I’m asking in the wrong place or just explaining things wrong.

So I’m working with react-three-fiber and use-cannon, and I’m trying to throw basic meshes on a plane. I’m importing simple models from Blender. They display fine, but they seem to make the page crash as soon as they collide with each other.

I’ve put up a straight forward sandbox to reproduce my issue.

Do you guys have any insights about that ?

The error’s stack trace is pretty far into the cannon-es code:

Screen Shot 2020-11-30 at 2.12.29 PM

I’m not too sure what’s going on there; it might be worth filing a bug on the cannon-es repository since you already have a nice example to reproduce the problem.

Hey, thanks for the answer !
Yeah, I noticed that the stack went lost in cannon-es. I tried to track it down and it seems to be about normals not being found. But it just gets to chaotic for me to understand. Also it is located inside the web worker, not within a local code I can easily log .

I’ll post an issue in some places to see if people have a clue. But if anyone comes around with an idea, I’ll hear it it. :smile:

So…
THE CAUSE :
In the process of cuting quads into triangles, Blender GLTF export multiplies the vertices. This doesn’t bother the rendering of the meshes in Three.js, but causes crashing deep into cannon-es script when two of them collide with each other.

THE FIX :
The geometry can be cleaned up with geometry.mergeVertices(). This caused the duplicated vertices to disappear, and the geometry.faces to be remapped onto the new geometry.vertices.

The CodeSandBox here shows the issue and the fix.