Advice on asset pipeline

Hello all,

I’m new to Three.js and I wanted to get some advice on setting up a asset pipeline for a 3d character viewer. Here are the current requirements:

• 3 models with identical rig
  • Multiple animations (idle, dance1, dance2, emote, etc.)
  • Material has a base texture, and then up to 6 layers of “modifier” textures
  • Plastic toyesque shader. Thinking phong currently.
  • Background color

The webviewer is going to be used on a website to support a game we are making in Unity. We already have our pipeline setup for the game, but much of the pipeline tooling is done in Unity so it can’t really be reused. Our artists work in Maya and then export FBX’s.

Currently I’ve been taking the animated FBX’s, importing into Blender, and manually removing unnecessary elements (nodes, keyframes, LODs, etc.). I then save each file out and append to a master blend file so that I can export everything as one single GLB file. The textures are not included as they are loaded at runtime.

This has worked at the prototyping stage, but I’m wondering if there would be a better way to possibly approach this. My main question being, should I keep using the single GLB file, or should I break it up into separate files. I did try a rig file and then separate animation files, but I was having issues loading the animation files into Three.js due to a parsing issue with undefined node definitions.

Not sure if this was the right place to ask this question, but I wanted to make sure I was approaching this problem properly.

Cheers!

1 Like

This has been done successfully, there was a thread on this forum a while back but i can’t find it at the moment. Roughly I think the approach was to include a dummy mesh and the full skeleton in each .glb animation file, then to reassign the animation when loading into three.js.