2D Shape to Cube

Hi,

I’m very new to Three.js (so please excuse any terminology mistake) and I need your help to figure out something for a personal project.

I’m drawing a quadrilateral shape by setting its 4 edges as Vector2 on the canvas (black wireframe below) and my goal is to extrude (?) this drawn shape as 3D cube or a square plane.

I’m been searching online about this for a few days now but I couldn’t find an answer. So my question is : how would one make a 3D shape with equal sides from a 2D quadrilateral shape ?
In other words : the drawn shape should be one of the faces of a cube ?

Thanks in advance.

I’ve not used this stuff but THREE has this three.js docs which I think will fit your bill. It looks like you need to make a THREE.Path to match the shape you want extruded and then BAM, dinner is made and the washing has been put away.

You need a bit of math here if you dont wanna use ExtrudeGeometry. I dont have a solution, but maybe this helps. The cube has 4 of 8 points/corners already, you just have to calculate the other 4.
You wanna get the length of one edge by calculating the distance from one point to the other.

let length = p1.distanceTo(p2)

Then you wanna know the normal/direction which the current rectangle is pointing to (where it is facing), to get the direction you want to extrude to. Maybe someone knows how to get the normal more easily?
You could check the angle of the line from p1 to p2 and add 90° to have the right angle.
You have to convert your angle to a vector3 and normalize it. for example (0, 0, 1) is pointing along the z axis.
Or use the THREE.Face3 to get the normal:

let geometry = new THREE.Geometry()

geometry.vertices = [
        p1,
        p2,
        p3
    ];

let face =new THREE.Face3(0, 1, 2)

geometry.faces.push(face)

geometry.computeVertexNormals()
    geometry.computeFaceNormals()

console.log('FACE', geometry.faces[0].normal)