Why I'm Getting unnecessary space while changing the Three Js Object Position?

While I changed the position by the “Button +1”, I got unnecessary space between these rooms. Please check here:

I tried changing positions. But while I do that, it changes all the main room positions as well.

Hi –

When rooms are all moved to position (0,0,0) they should be perfectly aligned. However, they are not. Maybe this offset causes the space between rooms, when you change their positions?

– Pavel

2 Likes

Thank you for your response Pavel. Yeah, I noticed that.
While I set everything to 0 they are not in the same line.
In the Public folder, there is the Models folder. And there is the raw 3d file which I converted to GLTF by using NPX…
And after that, I remove their positions and gave by my own.
Do you think it’s the 3d objects Error? or in my Code?

Hi again –

I have no experience with React and I do not know what exactly happens under the hood. I tried the 3D models in another program and they appear to be OK. So, I think there is no problem with the GLTF files.

Here is what I tried: boytchev.github.io/suica/misc/qa/SK_01_01_2023

– Pavel

2 Likes

Hello Pavel :wave:
I really appreciate it.
I checked your code. Can you please send me the file? So that I can have a look.

Hi –

All the files are here: github.com/boytchev/suica/tree/main/misc/qa/SK_01_01_2023. The actual code is in the file index.html.

– Pavel

1 Like

the models aren’t the same size it’s as simple as that. first of all when you use gltfjsx to convert them it has to cut off numbers somewhere, it has two digits by default, for instance position={[0.23, 1.56, 0.01]}. that might not be enough, do: npx gltfjsx model.glb --transform --precision=6

when you just load the scene though without the jsx graph:

export function RoomOne(props) {
  const { scene } = useGLTF("./models/room1.glb")
  return <primitive object={scene} {...props} />

and then move them all to [0,0,0] it becomes evident they’re not aligned.