The best way to implement draggable picture buttons in a GUI?

Hello. I’m pretty new to three.js (and to javascript in general).
I have a question about the best way I should implement buttons.

Here is some background on my project. I’m making an educational game that teaches kids how to do coding. It uses 3D graphics for a 3D character that navigates through a 3D puzzle.

I would like to add some 2D buttons with icon images on them.
Here is an example of something like what I’m trying to do:

I would like to have users be able to drag and rearrange the buttons on the bottom, and the buttons will have icons (and no text). Everything is done with javascript to render the interface, so I can’t just have something like html <input type=“button” value=“Click me” onclick=“msg()”>

One problem is the main models are 3D, but I want the interface to be 2D. I could make multiple views (like in the this demo program https://threejs.org/examples/#webgl_multiple_views) but that doesn’t seem ideal to have one view just for rendering a 2D interface.

I could just draw 3D boxes and keep those boxes always neatly parallel to the camera’s view (making them appear as 2D buttons) but that seems like the wrong way to accomplish the goal (and a headache to implement).

I am wondering if there is some library out there that has done all this for me. I would love to be able to input a .png image file, set the draw coordinates relative to the window, and let some library do all the heavy lifting with all of the mouse over and dragging events. The GUI I have seen (dat.gui.min.js) seems like it is more lightweight and not designed to be customized with dragging objects and buttons with icons.