Switching postprocessing on and off dynamically

Hi there, I wondering if anyone has any guidance on the best way to handle switching post-processing effects on and off using the PMNDRS library

Currently, I am adding the following passes independently to the same effect composer.

RenderPass
Outline
N8AO
SMAA
Depth of field
Tone mapping

For visual/performance reasons I want to be able to toggle the N8AO, SMAA and depth of field on and off independently, I thought I could just set the relevant pass to enabled = true/false, but doing so seems to end up with an empty screen under certain combinations.

What is the preferred method to disable/enable multiple effects? If you disable say the 3rd one, does that break it because there is a “gap” in the array of effects?

Hello, have you been able to figure out how its done? I would be interested to see how you’re managing all these effects. I am still learning how to use the pmndrs postprocessing library and i am struggling to understand how to implement smaa alone

The recommended way to enable or disable effects on the fly is to prepare multiple EffectPass instances with the desired Effect combinations ahead of time and to enable or disable these passes as needed using Pass.setEnabled().

No idea why, but that is not in the documentation but rather the wiki area, which is why I didnt originally find it.

I don’t think I got very far with it as I got pulled off on to real work. I will revisit at somepoint, so I would be interested to hear how you get on.

Thanks for the reply! At the moment im struggling to implement SMAA on its own, so my current struggle is unrelated to this topic. But later on id like to be able to switch these effects on and off so i will have to come back to this.