[SOLVED] .lookAt() flips cam rotation 180 degrees... how do i remove this?

1st off i’ve asked so far 2 other times in the last week (srry bout that) but im really happy with the community :smiley: hopefully i’ll get to help somebody soon :stuck_out_tongue:

ANYWAYS…
Im trying to re-create OrbitControls only with some slight changes… Plus for the coding experience!

I somehow manage to get the X-Z rotation working
but i cannot seem to Y rotation working…
as i get 50% of the way rotated when the camera flips 180 degrees as shown in the gif below…

i couldnt upload gif here so i uploaded it elsewhere

I made a jsfiddle as close as possible.
the problem is there in the jsfiddle but just without the colors to color code the sides
https://jsfiddle.net/FrustratedProgrammer/7fkbpfej/
I am still new to jsfiddle so i didnt know how to get the latest version of threejs and color code each side for easier viewing…

I “believe” my problem is in the .lookAt as it controls the camera’s rotation

I hear yeah, I ended up using a modified version of rodrigues rotation formula.

// camera.tilt is a preset value determined for best intended effect, ignore for the question.
// camera.tilt_value is a preset value determined for best result, ignore for the question.
if(  keyboard.pressed('d')){

// Move right
    camera.camPosi = rotatePoint( angleToRadians( camera.rotationSpeed ), 1, camera.camPosi, camera.upAxis, true );
    camera.position.set(camera.camPosi.x * camera.Zoom, camera.camPosi.y * camera.Zoom , camera.camPosi.z * camera.Zoom);
    camera.up = camera.upAxis.clone();
    if ( camera.Zoom <=camera._tilt ) {
      camera.lookAtVector = newLookAt( camera.upAxis , camera.Zoom , camera._tilt , camera._tilt_value );
      camera.lookAt( camera.lookAtVector.clone() );
    } else {
      camera.lookAtVector = newLookAt( camera._base , camera.Zoom , camera._tilt , camera._tilt_value );
    }

}
if( keyboard.pressed('s') ){

// Move down