Shift My Data or Set Position of Camera?

Hello THREE JS’ers:

I am a noob to ThreeJS and I have a question regarding best practices for handling my data in a 3D view. My data are a bunch of oil well trajectories in the subsurface of the earth. Essentially a bunch of 3D lines.

The tricky part is that the X and Y locations are offsets from a State Plane origin and the vertical numbers (‘z’) are just depths below the initial surface location. A snippet of a 3D well path is shown below. All dimensions are in feet and the differences between all 3D dimensions is the same, again in feet. The first two columns are just offset from a datum.

Northing(ft) Easting(ft) Depth(ft)
973928.9 795644.8 0
973927.6 795634.8 643.89
973927.6 795634.6 650.89
973927.6 795633.7 681.88
973926.5 795633.1 713.45
973924 795633 744.44
973920.2 795633.3 775.91
… … …

My question(s) are as follows. Is it best for me to:

1. translate all of my data into a 0,0,0 origin or
  2. Can I just leave the data as is and just set the camera to the averages, or something better, of the data?

I want to use that nice grid Threejs offers using the helper:

var grid = new THREE.GridHelper(50, 50, 0xffffff, 0x555555);

But this centers itself at 0,0,0. I could supposedly shift this to the average of the data if I choose option #2 above.

Any help or guidance you can offer would be invaluable.

Thanks!

Chris

Are you aware that the grid helper is actually flat? So it lies in the xz plane and all vertices have a y component of 0. AFAICS, the depth values of your data are different. Isn’t that a problem? I mean it seems that your plane isn’t flat, right?

You don’t have to shift every point in your data, anyway. You could shift the containing object. If the lines are now added directly to the scene, just move them into a THREE.Group that you can add to the scene instead. The position of the group shifts everything.