React three drei in three js vanilla

Hello i am new to threejs, i am trying to build something like this Diamond refraction (forked) - CodeSandbox
I am trying to build it using vanilla threejs but i cant use components of function from drei like MeshRefractionMaterial
so is there a way to use drei in vanilla threejs ? or maybe combine between vanilla and fiber ?

Check out drei vanilla for some vanilla js implementations of some of the drei components.
It’s probably possible to use drei stuff with vanilla JS, but it’s going to be very complicated and time consuming getting it to work in a satisfactory way.
If you need a drei component in your vanilla js app, the simplest solution is to check the source code of the drei component and rewrite it for vanilla js.

1 Like

i’ve checked it before they dont have MeshRefractionMaterial they have only those

and i tried to create the shader of MeshRefractionMaterial but it gave me some errors

drei is fully open source, mrm for instance is here: https://github.com/pmndrs/drei/blob/6ddc5ec042f69e52106a66a8ebeeb78de38f60de/src/materials/MeshRefractionMaterial.tsx you could use it 1:1 because “shaderMaterial” is just a little helper function that creates a THREE.ShaderMaterial with all uniforms available as getter/setters. so no changes needed for it.

the trouble is that, as is often the case in vanilla, a class doesn’t really lend to packing away all the code and behaviour and in this case there’s some glue code needed: https://github.com/pmndrs/drei/blob/6ddc5ec042f69e52106a66a8ebeeb78de38f60de/src/core/MeshRefractionMaterial.tsx for instance Sampler2D and SamplerCube need different defines, the BVH stuff, etc. the component paradigm can abstract that all into a single thing <MeshRefractionMaterial />, but a class can’t. this code you’ll have to run over your shadermaterial after it exists.