Need help in group collision detection

Hi @Mugen87/ @mrdoob ,

I am new to Three.Js and got some issue while working on it.

I need to work on wall frames and one wall can have a multiple windows.

I am able to create and load .FBX object of Wall to my scene which contains many child objects(windows). Now I need to join two walls and change the shape of the joint.

As per my understanding this can be done using raycaster to get the collision detection.

I have used the raycaster and collision detection and that works fine for me if I have a cube object.

But when I am trying to use the same functionality with my .FBX object it given an error that vertices not found. I have done some R&D and got to know that my object is a Group and group don’t have any geometry.

Code for Collision Detection:

var originPoint = MovingCube.position.clone();

for (var vertexIndex = 0; vertexIndex < MovingCube.geometry.vertices.length; vertexIndex++)

{

var localVertex = MovingCube.geometry.vertices[vertexIndex].clone();

var globalVertex = localVertex.applyMatrix4( MovingCube.matrix );

var directionVector = globalVertex.sub( MovingCube.position );

var ray = new THREE.Raycaster( originPoint, directionVector.clone().normalize() );

var collisionResults = ray.intersectObjects( collidableMeshList );

if ( collisionResults.length > 0 && collisionResults[0].distance < directionVector.length() )

appendText("Hit");

}

Thanks,
Nitin

Your question about collision detection with raycasting is considered as a “low-effort” question since it was already asked multiple times at stackoverflow and other forums.

Your geometry is most likely of type BufferGeoemtry which does not have a .vertices property.

Thanks @Mugen87 for your response.
As you said BufferGeometry does not have a .vertices then how should I move further in collision detection?

You could position attribute to access the vertices of a BufferGeometry. Check this out.

Is this the essence of the question?