Looking for someone to help teach me lighting

I am new to Three.js and would like a knowledgable instructor to teach me lighting best practices. Some scenes I am trying to emulate are below.

Try this page,
https://sbcode.net/threejs/lights/
and the next pages after it discussing the ambient, directional, hemisphere, point, spot, and different types of shadows. The pages have working examples with guis.

Your example images look like the materials are using flatshading, and the light is directional (ie, not a point), with the directional shadow. The top image appears to be using the orthograhic perspective.
The objects may also be using the MeshToonMaterial with about 7 tones. https://sbcode.net/threejs/meshtoonmaterial/ although you could get that effect with most of the other materials.

The bottom image appears to be using a post processing shader of some sort for the blur. Perhaps its the depth of field shader used here. https://threejs.org/examples/?q=post#webgl_postprocessing_dof

2 Likes

Does anybody have any good resources for reading about lighting in 3D from an artistic perspective?

There are any number of resources describing how to use IBL/direct/ambient/light probes etc. from a purely technical standpoint.
But it’s much less common to find information on how to put it all together to create a beautiful scene.

3 Likes

I totally agree. I would love to see more resources on artistic usage of those.

As far as low poly goes, I wholeheartedly recommend this Wonderful Article. It has a big section on not only lighting, but also usage of post-processing to compliment it.

8 Likes

There is lots of material available for photography and i can highly recommend it. Don’t look for digital stuff, just a raw explanation of how light affects surfaces: hard light, soft light, light modifiers, big light sources, small light sources, position: front light, fill, strip light, etc.