How to set up this post-processing pipeline with render targets?

Hi all!

I’m trying to figure out the best approach to solving a post-processing pipeline setup problem using three.js, and am wondering if anyone here has any input or ideas for me?

I’m pretty new to this, so I’m sorry if my domain specific language is lacking.

Context:
I’m using three.js for a school project where I’m implementing the algorithm from this paper: https://hal.inria.fr/hal-03140647/file/nm-EG2021-local_light_alignment.pdf

Problem outline/pipeline overview:

Stage 1:

First I’m rendering the scene containing my geometry using a custom shader to get a texture (the normals in world space) as well as a depth texture. Let’s call this the Normals-pass

Input: Scene with geometry
Output: Normals-texture[0] & Depth texture

Stage 2:
Next I want to produce an array of successively filtered versions of that texture using another shader pass (a bilateral filter). Each pass takes the last pass as input. The result should be an array of textures where each one is a filtered version of the previous one.

Input: Normals-texture[n] & Depth texture
Output Normals-texture[n+1]

Stage 3:
The final shader pass is the actual algorithm this is all centered around, and it takes as input the entire array of textures, starting with the unfiltered one from the normals-pass, then

Input: Normals-textures[0…x], where x is number of filtering passes run in stage 2
Output: final render

My problem:

I’ve managed to get this setup working using a different render target for each pass using with a hard-coded number of filter passes in stage 2. However, I would like this number to be dynamic so that I can adjust the number of passes from the GUI.