How to get smooth shading on TextGeometry, please 🙏

Hello, I’m having issue with this, could someone please tell me how can I get a smooth shading on the 3D text ?
I tried textMaterial.flatShading = false
but nothing works,
Help please ! :pray:

From my guess it’s because of how the vertices are setup no? Perhaps they aren’t merged. Is there any solution you guys can think of, other than creating the geometry and materials in blender or massively subdividing?

then merge it? if there is no change, they were merged.

How might I do so, please kind sir, i’m very new to all this.
I’m on my phone, I’ll test this and report back.
geometry.mergeVertices() and geometry.computeVertexNormals()

This method does not exist. Try it with BufferGeometryUtils.mergeVertices().

still blocked on this sadly, the .mergeVertices() gives an error as it’s not BufferGeometry

Doesn’t increasing the number of curve segments for the text help here?

In some cases ( rendering, then manipulating vertex)
you may need to update the vertex + normals, for the shader to render the new values correctly. Not sure it’s effective in your case, give it a try.

mesh.geometry.attributes.position.needsUpdate = true;
mesh.geometry.computeVertexNormals();
2 Likes

I can confirm that recalculating normals will work in smoothing things out, if it’s about altering vertices - the terrain in my project looks much smoother when done via “manual” vertex altering and recomputing normals (as opposed to, say, a displacement map with a higher level of detail).

I guess the main question here is whether this is a case of adjusting the normals, or having more segments in the rounded parts of the shapes, since smoothing is an effect in the latter case too (something quite visible in the case of spheres).

Too bad Three.js’ atrocious level of backward compatibility with previous versions and ways of doing things prevents easy testing of a similar code, otherwise we’d already have an answer to that… :roll_eyes: