How to change texture/color per object instance in InstancedMesh

Hello,
Please forgive my noobness, i am somewhat new to all this…

Using latest r111 InstancedMesh, referencing the example webgl_instancing_raycast
in the example, i have simply replaced the below:

var geometry = new THREE.BoxBufferGeometry( .5, .5, .5, 1, 1, 1 );
	var material = new THREE.MeshStandardMaterial( { map: new THREE.TextureLoader().load( 'textures/square-outline-textured.png' ) } );

which now draws cubes with the given texture…
my dilemma is: how to control color / texture of individual instances?! i am hoping this new InstancedMesh class makes this easy somehow? :see_no_evil:

Instancing is a more advanced approach recently being easier to start with with InstancedMesh, to add any more individual attributes you need to add a InstancedBufferAttribute to the geometry which instead controlling the attributes of a vertex, will be the attribute per instance, for example a individual color per instance.

For textures this requires more work depending on your case, if you have many different textures you would have to pack them into a texture atlas or texture array, replacing the line in the code sampling from the texture.

Anyway for more individual control you have to patch the material with a onBeforeCompile callback or you might take a look at this plugin i made to make patching easier.

1 Like

@Fyrestar
Can I use instanced buffer attributes with THREE.InstancedMesh()?
I thought it relates to THREE.InstancedBufferGeometry().
But if so, would be cool to see any example with instanced attributes and instanced mesh.

2 Likes

@Hayawen here’s an example coloring each sphere individually using THREE.InstancedMesh and the plugin to patch the material to use the new attribute. (scroll to the bottom of the code)

It works without being based on THREE.InstancedBufferGeometry

3 Likes

This new example shows how you can enhance InstancedMesh with additional instanced attributes: