How can I increase FPS after loading this GLB model?

Hi, I’m quite new to Threejs and haven’t quite got everything perfect yet :smile: I was hoping to get some help to reduce drawcalls as after loading this model I’m stuck with over 8K drawcalls.

How can I reduce this whilst still retaining the option to select individual objects?

— I should probably say now that I don’t have control over the input model or it’s contents.

You can only reduce draw calls by merging 3D objects or by using techniques like instanced rendering. Both approaches can be implemented with three.js but they will make the interaction with your scene more complicated.

Unfortunately, the engine requires that the user explicitly performs merging or instanced rendering. three.js does not perform this actions automatically for the user (often called auto-batching and auto-instancing).

That’s bad since the easiest way to optimize your model is during the design phase. Another problem is that your asset is very big (61MB). This is not a usable size for the web. Consider to Draco-compress you model in order to speed up the transmission time.

1 Like

Thanks for your insight :slight_smile: I should first say that the model is compressed before delivery to the end user, we don’t transfer this much data, I gzip and use draco compression to drastically reduce the size :slight_smile:

Is instanced rendering something I could achieve with models like this? Possibly during the loading stage.

Here is the long (and a bit sad) story about automated instancing in Three.js: https://github.com/mrdoob/three.js/pull/10093

It doesn’t look too promising :frowning: