HDR images in three to create nice lighting

Im looking into getting my scene looking better and it seems as though using a HDR maybe a good approach. I dont necessarily want the background to be an image, but just use it for the lights

I got a hdr file from hdrhaven

After abit of playing it seems as though I cant use a single spherical image in threejs can any one confirm that for me?

I did find a great online tool to convert it into a cube map, which seems abit more acceptable for three and I now want to implement that.

I was going to follow this

Unfortuantley, as with alot of the three examples, as a novice I struggle to understand what/why certain things are done and what options are available to me as they are rarely commented nicely. Can anyone point me in the direction of how to start? I can see a new THREE.CubeTextureLoader but not sure what to do with it?

just to clarify thats not a dig, I appriciate all the work the three community does and realise it’s my own lack of knowledge thats the problem

For now equirectangular .hdr images cannot be used as MeshStandardMaterial's envMap directly.
Please see https://github.com/mrdoob/three.js/issues/14709.

I myself is going to convert .hdr to .exr and follow https://threejs.org/examples/webgl_materials_envmaps_exr.html.

Example for THREE.CubeTextureLoader, it’s compatible with the output maps(seperate) from the online tool that You mentioned.

Thanks for the replies.

So this is possibly really stupid of me, but I would like to confirm what I think I can achieve…

1. I dont necessarily want an image background, more likely a solid colour/gradient
  2. I want to be able to have nice “studio” lighting schemes.

so for #1 I can set my background to any colour easily enough, at the moment I my three scene is transparent so its just css on the body.