GLB file exported is 3 to 4 times larger than scene objects/ original file

First of all, l want to mention that I’m a beginner to Three.js so please bear with me if l’m not aware of any concepts. I will outline my thought process and all the resources l have referred to.

So my issue is with the exporting functionality. The objects on the model are around 10 to 13mb before exporting, but l separated them and uploaded onto a scene where l can export if required. But now on exporting, l keep getting a 36mb file which is not what l want.

I have checked the glb file by converting it to a .gltf with a bin file and texture separated and realised that there is a huge 19mb .png texture that’s created on export; I don’t know why that’s so, but this was never the case before.

These are the links for exploring the solution but l haven’t landed on any resolve.

https://discourse.threejs.org/search?q=glb%20size%20larger%20on%20export

https://sharktest.surge.sh/

Please assist me guys. Thanks in advance

Please don’t tag everyone in posts — unless it’s a question about a specific person’s work, better to just post without tagging.

The size of textures will change when loading and re-exporting from three.js, because they are de-compressed and then re-compressed. To build an editor, it would be important to keep original copies of the textures — not just THREE.Texture references. If you don’t care as much about compression artifacts and just want smaller files, you could make an edited version of GLTFExporter than always uses JPEG instead of PNG. Or alternatively, re-compress the file with an optimizing tool after export. For example:

npm install --global @gltf-transform/cli

gltf-transform oxipng input.glb output.glb --verbose

Okay, thank you for the insights, let me see a way to just use JPEG texture. I think that’s a possible solution.

Will work on the posting issue as well

Sorry, but do l make a gltf exporter that always uses jpeg instead of png