Giving a .glb a texture in code

Hi guys, i’m completely new to three.js and using .glb type models. I have searched for a few days now on how to get the .png texture attached to the model in the code and im now desperately asking this here.

how do i attach the loaded texture .png on to the loaded model in the code. i have seen many close examples but nothing has worked.

i tried in the function to call gltf.scene.children[0].material.map = texture; but it gives me and error saying property material does not exist on object3D. Would be nice to get what im not understanding here xD

var textureLoader= new THREE.TextureLoader();

var texture = textureLoader.load("models/ninja.png");

texture.encoding = THREE.sRGBEncoding;

texture.flipY = false;

const loader = new GLTFLoader()

loader.load(

'/models/cibus_ninja.glb',

function (gltf) {   

},

(xhr) => {

console.log((xhr.loaded / xhr.total * 100) + '% loaded')

},

(error) => {

console.log(error);

}

);

Any help is appreciated, thanks :slight_smile:

You have to traverse through loaded glb since it always represent a hierarchy of 3D objects:

gltf.scene.traverse( function( object ) {

if ( object.isMesh ) object.material.map = texture;

} );

I tried this before and it’s giving me the error of : "Property ‘isMesh’ does not exist on type ‘Object3D’ ".
Is it possible that the trouble im having is because there is something wrong with the .glb? It loads just fine in to the scene though.

if (object instanceof THREE.Mesh ) object.material.map = texture; worked for detecting the material. now it’s an error of :
Property ‘map’ does not exist on type ‘Material | Material[]’.
Property ‘map’ does not exist on type ‘Material’

I dont have an seperate @types/three.js in node_modules as i think i read somewhere it was no longer needed as its integrated in the normal npm three.js install. But am i wrong in this? Found this for refrence(https://github.com/mrdoob/three.js/issues/10681).