Getting Coordinates of wireframe coordinates while painting the model

Hi everyone, I’m new to the three.js so I’m sorry if the question is weird or meaningless. The heading might seem weird but let me explain in a clear way. As I had a few searches on the web I come up with decal splatter which paints the model as a button clicked

three.js webgl - decal splatter
GitHub - spite/THREE.DecalGeometry: Decals for three.js
and each decals are stored in an array. As I checked the array I can get the clicked points coordinates.

However, when the wireframe mode is set to true it represents the model with triangular and I want to get these triangular coordinates

. In another word, I need to get 3 Vector3 objects. Also is it possible to get multiple triangular coordinates with only one mouse click? I’d be grateful if anyone could help me with it.

If you use Raycaster to calculate intersections - the intersection result object has a face property - which in turn tells you: a) which face the ray collided with; b) vertex indices of that face.

2 Likes

So the red dotted lines are the ones that I’m looking for?
I just confused a little bit. So this model has 9561 triangles and they are called face as far as I can get ?
And How am I going the find which one is clicked ? because it shows all the faces?

No.
You’re looking for intersects[0].face and intersects[0].faceIndex, where intersects is an array of objects, that your raycaster intersects, and [0] contains information about the closest object.

2 Likes

I don’t think you are looking in the right place. Can you please share the code you use to capture mouse clicks?

1 Like

GitHub - spite/THREE.DecalGeometry: Decals for three.js
I just git-cloned that repo and printed the decals and tried the explore what I’m looking for
And intersections are provided with raycasting so I guess what I’m looking for is here but I could not find yet :no_mouth:

function render() {

requestAnimationFrame( render );

console.log(decals);