Direction for a performant grid based map editor

Hi All! I’m new to Three.js and 3D rendering in general (though professionally, I am a JavaScript developer). I’ve been digging through this forum over the last month or two and it’s been a great resource getting started.

A little background on what led me here: I was working on a personal project building a relatively simple grid based map builder (something that could be used as a tool to build maps that might be used in table top games). I started out just building an HTML/CSS/JS solution, however, ran into performance issues once a map started to get bigger than 60x60 tiles, simply due to the number of elements in the dom, and having to manipulate them all when panning the map for example. There are definitely ways to work around this performance issue just using HTML/CSS/JS, however, at this point I thought a Three.js solution might be easier, and ultimately, much more robust.

I’ve done a handful of basic tutorials and went through most of the suggested resources in the Three.js docs, so I feel like I have a general understanding of the basics. I started out by working toward a proof on concept in the most simple, but naive way. Each tile is a separate mesh created based on the settings chosen for that tile. I quickly realized that number of draw calls is a big factor for performance in WebGL even if the objects are simple.

At this point, I feel like I don’t quite have enough experience to know exactly what the right questions are to ask here. But, currently, I’m thinking of two potential approaches to build a proof of concept.

1. Understand how to more performantly create many similar meshes to create a grid based map that can be updated dynamically in an editor type context.