Create mesh geometry from array of 8 corners (vertices)

I am new to three.js and wondering is it possible to create a geometry mesh from an array of shapes each created by connecting 8 corners ( a corner itself defined by x, y, and z). Each shape (cell) has a centre point and a property(material) associated with. Thanks

First of all: Hello!

Could you add a picture of the desired result with some explanation? :slight_smile:

Hello! and thanks for reply.
The mesh can have lots of the 8-corner cube.
svggridTutorialCornerPoint_09

So far it seems that you’re looking for the voxel technique.
https://threejs.org/examples/?q=voxel#webgl_interactive_voxelpainter

I don’t think that simple BoxGeometry with ‘width’, ‘height’, and ‘depth’ (used in above voxelpainter example) is what I want. I don’t know how to create a geometry from the coordinates of 8 corner points (vertices in three.js).

If you only want eight vertices per box, you need an indexed geometry in order to draw two triangles per side. The problem is you won’t have proper shading since the normal vectors are shared between multiple sides of the box. Same for uv coordinates.

Using BoxGeometry might be the better alternative since you will have valid vertex information in your application.

1 Like

if your points are axis aligned, then you can find width, height and depth of your box and create THREE.BoxGeometry().

1 Like

Arbitrary boxes with 8 points (vertices), e.g. following shape, is possible, but not with BoxGeometry’s
width, height, and depth.
cpg-cells

Yeah, you need a custom geometry for this use case.

What about the PolyhedronBufferGeometry, can the x, y, z of 8 corner points be used to create the vertices and indices required by PolyhedronBufferGeometry ?

PolyhedronBufferGeometry is intended to generate platonic solids, a special type of regular polyhedra. One property of those geometries is that all edges have the same length. This is not true for your arbitrary boxes.