Beginner: Work Analysis - theory confirmations

Hello,

thank you for opening and reading this topic first of all - Im a beginner into the mix of 3D, blender and Three.js and would like to use some of your insights.

I have programming background and also did some things in the 3D as a kid so Im not too worried :slight_smile: but I know I still need to digest and learn a lot.

I found a scene, that I personally like a lot but still while looking at it I do have some open questions and would like you to help me answer them.

Scene:
https://threejs.org/examples/webgl_animation_keyframes.html

My questions (not only about this particular scene but overall):
Typical workflow when I would like to achieve similar results would be:

• Blender
  • Create scene
  • Add textures
  • Create animations
  • Save model and import into three.js
  • Three.js magic - done, correct?

Yet still a lot of open questions:

Questions:
Do you add textures in Blender or separate program?

Are the textures then a part of the exported file or are they separated?

What file format is best suited for this?

I read that glTF is preferred 3D format for Three.js - but does that contain textures?

Lets say that I would like to change the color of the TRAM in the scene, but the car has “baked” textures - can I achieve thay in any way?

If textures are baked in but I still would like to be able to change while running the scene in three.js what would be the correct approach?

Changing the color of certain faces of the 3d object would help? But how would I know which face is the correct one to change color? Lets say yellow part of the TRAM.

Lets imagine I would like to have a mesh of a TRAM that is in tact and one that is DAMAGED - shape stays the same, just the texture changes, swapping textures is the best approach?

But what if I have a object, lets say that has multiple parts of textures that I would like to change? Imagine a simple MINECRAFT character. Something like this: