Avoid loading bursts - managing texture loading

my code loads and disposes a lot of image tiles during run-time - something like google maps.
The new textures get loaded on demand based on camera location etc.
Now it can happen that the code fires 50 texture requests at once, and if the connection is fast enough they all come in within a few frames, which in turn leads to lag as they all get updated the same time.

What would be a good way to spread the loading? I looked at the imageloader, loadingmanager etc. but they all seem straightforward - no queues or anything like that.

While i know my way around graphic engines, i am very new to all the network stuff - is there anything in JavaScript where i can limit the number of concurrent requests, keeping the rest in the queue?

My plan for now would be to have an intermediate structure that keeps track of ongoing transfers, waiting for callbacks and making sure only a few are updated at a time. While this is doable, i wonder if there is something like that already implemented in the http protocol.

ok i got it working like this:

setTexture(x,y) { 
	this.loadRequest = true;
	this.loading = true;
	this.loadRequestName = scope.directory + x.toString().padStart(3, '0')  + "_" + y.toString().padStart(3, '0') + '.jpg';
	// remove old texture and set loading symbol texture
	if(this.texture !== baseTexture) {
		this.texture.dispose();
		this.texture = baseTexture;
		this.material.map = this.texture;
		this.material.needsUpdate = true
	}
}

updateTextureQueue() {	// runs every so often..
	if(this.loadRequest) {
		if(activeRequests < maxRequests) {
			activeRequests++;					
			this.texLoader.load(this.loadRequestName, (loaded) => {
				this.texture = loaded;												
				this.material.map = this.texture;
				this.material.needsUpdate = true;
				this.loading = false;
				this.loadRequest = false;
				activeRequests--;						
			 })		
		}
	}
}