Work with lat, lon (EPSG: 4326) coordinates

Hi everyone,

I have data with lat, lon coords and I would like to visualize them in 3D space. Is there a way to set scene reference system to use a specific coordinate reference system (for example: EPSG: 4326) instead of the default, arbitrary one?

I thought that this would be a very common problem with a very straightforward solution.

I am quite new to Three.js. Any resources to read or any examples are more than welcome!

Thank you in advance!

I had to deal with this for WGS84 coords before - I think that’s the same as EPSG: 4326?

The position is easy - you can map the center of your scene to any lat/long you choose, and you can pick Y=0 to be sea level or any other height you like.

Scale is also easy - three.js units are assumed to be meters, usually, but you can choose any scale you like. Just make sure it matches any models you are using and then you might need to scale your lat lon to match. But if possible just use meters, or possibly kilometers for large scenes.

The problem is rotation. I could never find a conversion formula but I did ask over on GIS Stackexchange and got a reply which I used to muddle through to a solution. But I don’t have any immediate formula to give you, sorry.

If you’re not tied to three.js you could try using Cesium instead, I assume they already have systems for converting geospatial coords to 3d.

1 Like

Also possibly related:

1 Like

It all depends on the precision you expect.

For a quick and rough solution, you could assume the shape of the earth to be a perfect sphere (which it isn’t, but nevertheless). The formulas in this case are very simple and straightforward:

Knowing that the circumference of the earth at the equator is 40’000 km, you can compute the earth’s Radius at the equator to be

R = 40'000 / (2 * π) = 6'366.1977 km.

The radius at latitude “lat” equals to

r = R * cos( lat ).