Select components of a model

Hi

I am new to threejs.

What I would like to do is to is render a model, say a house and then have a dropdown box with all the “components” of the house. When I select the component in the dropdown box the camera should focus on this component.

So I do know that I will use the controls.target.set option to be able to change where the camera is looking.

I would like to for example select the door and the controls should then update to show the position of that door.

Is there perhaps an example someone knows of which has similar functionality?

I do not see something like this on the examples page of threejs.

Kind Regards

Is the functionality on this page a bit what you are looking for? Here the camera focuses on the various continents when selected in the menu.

Internally the OrbitControls are used. The end position and -target are stored (‘obj’ being the camera):

obj.orbitTarget=new THREE.Vector3(targetx, targety, targetz);
obj.targetPosition = new THREE.Vector3(x, y, z);
obj.targetStep = Math.floor(2 / speed);

Then this function is used to update the camere each time frame:

var f = function () {
                if (obj.targetPosition && obj.targetPosition != '') {
                    obj.targetStep--;
                    if (obj.position.distanceTo(obj.targetPosition) < 0.1 || obj.targetStep<0) {
                        obj.targetPosition = '';
                        obj.orbitTarget=undefined;
                    }
                    else {
                        obj.position.lerp(obj.targetPosition, speed);
                        if(orbitControls && obj.orbitTarget){
                            orbitControls.target.lerp(obj.orbitTarget.clone(), speed);
                        }
                    }
                }
            }

Hi,

Yes this is very similar to what I am looking for. Thank you.

I do have some additional questions:

1. How are the options in the selection box tied to the actual continents on the map?