Noob question - sorry

Hi,

Im new to the whole 3D scene and im stuck on square one.

Im trying to create a geometry and apply texture to it.

const cubeMesh = new THREE.Mesh(
        new THREE.BoxGeometry(2, 0.2, 1),
        new THREE.MeshStandardMaterial({map: loader.load('/concrete2/hangar_concrete_floor_diff_1k.png')}),
    )

But it loads the entire texture on all sides making it look squeezed together on some of the sides and I cant figure out how I can configure it to apply the texture correctly across the mesh. What am I missing?

Thanks!

Save yourself from math and just use Blender. Model the cube, apply proper UVs in 0.5 seconds, export to GLTF, use GLTFLoader (code in the bottom-right) to load it into three.js. This applies to models of any complexity - coding UVs by hand doesn’t go too far.

1 Like

Hey mjurczyk,

Thanks for your reply!

Unfortunately Blender wont be of much help as I will have to do some scaling/merging down the road, so all geometries/textures will have to be managed by code.

Are you saying that applying a texture to a geometry is a hustle in three.js?

Thanks!

It’s a hassle in any code - whether that’d be three, babylon, ogl, Unreal, directly shaders, or any other option. Ofc you can just scale the UV values (here’s how to calculate them in the first place.), but with exception of very trivial shapes, that quickly becomes unmanageable, esp. if you do the scaling at buffers’ level and then start applying matrix transformations to said buffers, expecting UVs to react to that.

Hard to help without knowing the actual context of what you’re building, but if you’re stuck to coding UVs, triplanar mapping may be your best bet.

1 Like