Mapping of Mobile Gyro Data (Quaternion) to 3D mesh in THREE.JS

Background I am a newbie in game development I’m creating motion sensor game Air Table Tennis on THREE.JS in which user can control the paddle of table tennis with his/her smartphone. I am using gyroscope/rotational data of mobile in the form of Quaternion to avoid Gimble Lock and sending the data to server(nodeJS).

Problem So, I am using paddle.setRotationFromQuaternion(Quaternion);, But I am unable to map my paddle as my device. (paddle is not exactly in the position where my mobile is currently now, although moving on x,y,z axix give me correct result). So my question is how to calibrate/Map 3D object same as my mobile device like DeviceOrientationControls control which is used in mobile?

@mrdoob Sir kindly help me

This is really just related to start positions is it not? Make sure at the beginning of the program, you ask the users to hold their mobile device out directly in front of them for callibration. It is also worth noting that you should think about how the human hand/arm interacts with the device, and how the arm moves.

I hope this helps!

• TheCodeCrafter
1 Like

@TheCodeCrafter Thank you so much for your response, yes that’s exactly i wanted to implement, but the problem is

Here is what i want to implement.

My game runs on web(laptop), and from mobile I’m just getting gyro sensor data and send it to server (nodeJS) which then send this data to client. Initially on loading my mesh(paddle of table tennis) I’m setting my mesh’s(paddle) rotation to

paddle.setRotationFromQuaternion(new THREE.Quaternion(0,0,0,1));

Then when game starts, mobile sends sensor data to game, and then I was setting (data is coming form mobile) and this function is continuously calling

var endQuaternion = new THREE.Quaternion(data.X,data.Y,data.Z,data.W); paddle.setRotationFromQuaternion(endQuaternion);