Importing Orbit Controls from local files

Hi! I am having a struggle trying to import orbit controls, I have downloaded all the three files on my laptop in this structure:

Captura

And this is my code for importing (from file) the orbitcontrols.js and calling the setting the controls function:

And I get the following error:

“Uncaught TypeError: THREE.OrbitControls is not a constructor”

Any ideas please?

All I see are examples of importing from npm and cdn and I think I’m not using either (just importing from the download file on my laptop). Am I right? I’m new to three.js and java so any hint could help :slight_smile:

JS without npm makes little sense, you can’t just have an html click on it, nor can you consume npm packages. You need a bundler, preferably vite because it’s super easy to use.

Install node, there’s no JavaScript without node, open shell, type: npm create vite

There are several versions of OrbitCntrols. If you want to load it locally, it depends on whether it is the module or non-module version of the file. Non-module version should have no problems. The module version would require a local webserver.

Sorry, but this a very limited view of web development. Developing JS without the need for a tool chain is what the web makes so accessible. Of course the mentioned node.js, npm and bundlers are important tools but especially beginners do not necessarily need them if they want to learn a library or just want to experiment with code.

@Ana_Hernandez_Guardiet You have to understand that downloading libary files and putting them into custom directories is no recommended workflow in JavaScript anymore. This was done in earlier days but now with a real module system you do it differently.

The three.js project recommends two workflows: