Importing and using ES6 modules through npm browserify

Hello, so I’m new to npms and I’m using the official documentation of importing three.js through an npm which is this:

var THREE = require('three');

var scene = new THREE.Scene();

when a scene is created everything is good except I would like to use Map controls from orbit controls

import { MapControls } from 'three/examples/jsm/controls/OrbitControls.js';

The only way i’m able to use this map functionality is through this method (when I’m not using npms).

I tried using ES6 imports but it gives me this error:

** Parsing error: ‘import’ and ‘export’ may appear only with 'sourceType: module**

I tried adding this to my package.json file but to no avail.

"parserOptions": {
        "sourceType": "module"
    }

Hmm, I’m not sure that the docs should suggest using require first (if at all). Can you try doing this instead?

import * as THREE from 'three';

There’s probably no need to use browserify and require any more. It was a non-standard solution to using modules in a time before the JavaScript language had a module system. Now it’s better to use JavaScript modules, which use the import and export keywords and are natively supported by most browsers.

Hi, thank you for your comment. The reason for using browserify is to reduce the need for multiple script tags in the html and also I am using it to require jquery for non 3d elements within the dom.

I am also trying to use tween.js and when I imported it through ES6

import { Easing, Tween, autoPlay } from '../node_modules/es6-tween';

it provides this Error:

Failed to load module script: The server responded with a non-JavaScript MIME type of “text/html”. Strict MIME type checking is enforced for module scripts per HTML spec.

EDIT:
I have also tried to import the specific directory
import { Easing, Tween, autoPlay } from '../node_modules/es6-tween/bundled/Tween.min.js';

But it provides me with this Error: