How would i edit the if statement to allow a ram reaches a certain position the wall moves back a position?

Hey, i have an if statement below i have a moving ram (using a slider) that when it reaches
position -100 a wall should move to position 0 or even better the wall should be destroyed.

Only the ram should be controllable how would i edit the below code and where would i place it as I’m still a beginner to three.js:

Any help would be appreciated to find a fix

function pushBack() {
                if (ramGroup.position.x > -100) {
                            wall.position.x = 0;
                        }
                }

Hello jamster1992,

It is difficult to understand what you are trying to achieve with only a small piece of code, but…

from I see in the code snippet, if your slider range from 0 to -100, the conditional statement can’t never be true. You need to add an “=” after the “>” sign to make it a plausible condition.

1 Like

in short when my battering ram reachs -100 on the x axis,

i want the wall to move to postion 0 on the x axis just by moving the ram

in my controls is this -
this.MoveForward = 0;

in my gui is this code -
guiRam.add(controls, ‘MoveForward’, -100, 100);

in the render function is this -
ram.position.set(controls.MoveForward, controls.positionY, controls.positionZ);

ok, then make sure to use

if the previous doesn’t work, use this

if (parseInt(ramGroup.position.x) >= -100) {

or

if (parseInt(ramGroup.position.x) === -100) {

also make sure to include the pushback() function in the update() loop

1 Like

thanks would the if statement go in the controls or gui?

I will put it in your controls loop, because it is pertinent to controls from what I see. but, you are certainly going to have more cases and the best would be to create a separate/independent app control function/class that will check for the different states, i.e.:

var checkappstate=function(){

pushBack();

somestuff();

};