How to get started with VRMLLoader?

Hi there,

I am totally new to Three.js and need to implement a viewer component for VRML 2.0 models in a React front end app.
What is the minimal code to load a VRML file and display an interactive viewer like in three.js webgl - loaders - VRML loader?

I have seen this PR by @Mugen87, but I am unsure which parts from VRMLLoader are actually an integral part of the Three.js package and which parts I would have to write myself. In the (official documentation)[three.js docs] I cannot find the VRMLLoader mentioned. Also, is Chevrotain still needed as a dependency?

I would be ever so grateful for a short “Getting Started” and some code snippet.

I think the example shows more or less the minimal code which is necessary.

So you’re saying I should use my F12 browser debugging tools and check the website’s actual source code?
Or did I miss some sort of “Show Code” button on said site?

Correct. You can also use the below URL and click on the button at the bottom right.

https://threejs.org/examples/#webgl_loader_vrml

1 Like

Ok thank you very much.

Just to clarify further: I would have to copy all the files in the folder ./jsm and paste it in my app’s directory, right? These are the parts that do not come with an npm install three. Is that correct?

And the lil-gui is just needed for the floating control box? I assume I would not need that just for the VRML rendering?

All JS files in the jsm directory are part of the three npm package. You don’t need to copy them.

Yes, lil-gui is only used for the GUI.

Great. Thanks for all your help and your on-going work on this loader. This ancient file format is still relevant in the domain of particle physics when exporting 3d models from CERN simulation software.

1 Like