How to deform a mesh around another mesh?

Hi,

Blender has a modifier called shrinkwrap - basically you can statically deform a mesh around another mesh as if it was shrinkwrap (hence the name.) This is especially useful for wrapping clothing around a character and I was wondering if there is something similar in three.js.

I’m fairly new to three.js and so I’m sorry if I’ve missed something obvious. I looked around for quite a while but couldn’t find anything. If there’s not something I can use that already has this functionality, could somebody help point me in the right direction for how I can manipulate individual vertices (using the technique described in the Blender page above?)

Thanks a lot!

Did some more research but still came up with nothing - anybody have any ideas?

I haven’t seen any example of this, so you might have to get your hands dirty and write it yourself. This sounds like a pretty advanced operation, but I figure you could iterate through each vertex position and perform a Raycast towards the center of the “mold” shape. Once it hits the mold, you can change the vertex position to the resulting intersection point. Or at least 99% of the way between starting and intersecting position, so you don’t run into z-fighting issues.

If you have a bit more information on what you’re trying to do it would be helpful but from the blender docs it sounds like the tool moves each vertex to the closest point on the target mesh:

Nearest Surface Point

This will select the nearest point over the surface of the shrunk target.