Draco-Compressed gltf escape character handling

Hi guys, I’m new to three.js and testing it with an building scenario, and my gltf node names might contain escape characters such as inches (e.g 1"-pipe). Since the model might be relatively large, I’ve thought to compress it with draco. However, the draco-compressed model seems to be corrupted and failed to load with three.js loader.

Given that I can’t share the original file, I tried to reproduce it with other models.

As shown below, I’ve modified a model node with " character and three.js editor can load it and parse the node name correctly.

However, after compressing the model with draco_transcoder, three.js editor can’t load it and returned with the following error message.

Which seems to me that it’s due to unescaped node name.

I have zero knowledge with C++ and wondering if this is and Draco issue or am I missing something here?

Or, escape characters should be avoided by all cost for gltf assets? If not, what’s the proper way to handle it?

Thanks in advance

node_with_special_char.zip (96.8 KB)
draco_compressed_node_with_special_char.rar (26.8 KB)

It sounds like this must be a bug in their transcoding tool. I’d recommend using something else to Draco-compress the file, like any of these:

Hi @donmccurdy, thanks for the quick reply and fantastic package glTF-Transform.

Both gltf-pipeline and glTF-Transform worked and can be properly loaded.

Based on you reply, please bear with me with a few questions just to make sure i’ve correct knowledge on draco and gltf assets:

1. Characters such as \, " can be used in gltf assets as long as it is properly escaped and shouldn’t be a problem?